Overview of Criminal Background Checks

Utah law requires the Bureau of EMS to exclude from EMS licensure anyone who may pose an
unacceptable risk to public health and safety, as indicated by his/her criminal history. The
Bureau of EMS conducts a background check on each individual who seeks to license as an EMS
personnel, including an FBI background check.

You must submit electronic fingerprints. Electronic fingerprints may be taken at the Bureau
office or at any other properly equipped location. If you come to the Bureau office for electronic
fingerprints, please arrive prior to 4:00 pm so we can complete them before the office closes. If
you have your electronic fingerprints done at another location, take an Authorization for
LiveScan form with you to complete and return to the Bureau within 48 hours. Staff at other
LiveScan locations may contact the Bureau to receive instructions.

Frequently Asked Questions

If your question cannot be answered with the following information, please email Kami
Thompson at kamithompson@utah.gov. Sending your questions will help us serve the public
more effectively.

Q. How do I know what offenses found on my record will keep me from getting licensed as an

Emergency Medical Technician?
A. Please refer to Utah Administrative Rule R426-12-1400 "Refusal, Suspension or
Revocation of Certification"” for categories that will cause your license to be
automatically denied.

Q. Will speeding tickets hinder my efforts at trying to become a state licensed EMT?
A. No.

Q. Do I need to report arrests, charges, convictions, plea in abeyances, etc.?
A. An applicant or currently licensed EMT is required to notify the Bureau of EMS, in
writing, within seven days of the initial offense. This does not mean you wait to see if
you are convicted or not. Notification is required upon the arrest/charge. See Report a
Criminal Offense, below.

Q. Can I find out before my class starts if my background check is approved?
A. Yes, by contacting Kami Thompson at kamithompson@utah.gov.

Report a Criminal Offense

Utah Administrative Rule R426-12-1400 requires criminal offenses by licensed EMS personnel
to be reported:

"Certified EMS personnel must notify the Department of any arrest, charge, or conviction within
seven days of the arrest, charge or conviction. If the person works for a licensed or designated
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EMS agency, the agency is also responsible to inform the Bureau of the arrest, charge or
conviction."”

Reports must be submitted in writing, not over the phone. The attached form may be used to
report the arrest, charge, or conviction of licensed EMS personnel:



Please print all information legibly

Today’s Date:

Name of Reportee and Reporting
Agency (if applicable):
Phone Number and Email:

Name of Offender:
EMS ID:

Date of Offense:

Offense Committed:

Detailed Description of Offense:

Location where offense was
occurred:

Action taken by Agency (to date):

Please mail form to Attn: BEMS Criminal Review Board, PO Box 144103, Salt Lake City, UT 84114-
4103. You will receive a response by email/phone within 30 days of your report. Thank you.



