
Did you know in 2006:  
• Unbelted crash occupants were 19 times more likely to die in a crash than belted crash 

occupants. 
• An estimated 147 lives were saved because of seatbelt use. (National Highway Traffic Safety Administration) 
• An unbelted crash occupant was killed in Utah every four days. 

Wearing a seatbelt is one of the best ways to decrease injuries and deaths in 
motor vehicle crashes. 
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• The highest percentage of unbelted crash occupants were aged 10-19 years (6%) and 85+ years (6%). 

OCCUPANT PROTECTION 

• Crash occupants in rural counties were twice as 
likely to be unbelted than urban occupants. 

Percent of Unbelted Occupants in Total 
Crashes by County (Utah 2006) 
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Injury Severity of Unbelted Occupants 
(Utah 2006) 

• 46% of crash occupants killed in a crash were 
unbelted. 

• The majority of persons who survived a crash 
reported wearing a seatbelt. 
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Unbelted Crash Occupants by Age (Utah 2006) 

>10% of Occupants Unbelted 
 

5-9.9% of Occupants Unbelted 
 

<5% of Occupants Unbelted 
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• The older the child the less likely they 
were using a child safety seat. 

• While 86% of children 0-1 years were in a 
child safety seat at the time of the crash, 
only 57% of 4-year-olds, 23% of 6-year-
olds, and 4% of 8-year-olds were in a 
child safety seat. 

• The decrease in child safety seat use for 
children aged 4-8 years is concerning and 
indicates that children are moving to 
adult-sized seatbelts too early.  

Percent of Children Aged 0-8 Years 
in Crashes Using Child Safety 

Seats (Utah 2006) 

Child Safety Seat 
Recommendations: 
• Infants should be placed in a 

rear-facing safety seat until they 
are at least 20 pounds AND 1 year of age. 

• NEVER place a rear-facing child safety seat in 
the front seat of a vehicle with a passenger side 
air bag. 

• Children over 1 year of age weighing 20-40 
pounds should ride in forward facing child safety 
seats. 

• Older children (approximately 4-8 years of age) 
should ride in belt-positioning booster seats until 
they are 80-100 pounds or 4’9” tall and can use 
an adult-size lap and shoulder belt system. 

• The safest place for any child aged 12 and 
under is in the back seat of the vehicle. 

 
 
Seatbelt Recommendations: 
• Always use both the lap and shoulder belt. 

When worn properly, the shoulder belt should fit 
across the collar bone and the lap belt should fit 
low over the hips. 

• Never place the shoulder strap under your arm 
or behind your back. 

• Use belt-positioning booster seats for children 
who have outgrown their toddler safety seat (at 
about 4 years of age and 40 pounds). Booster 
seats help position an adult-size seatbelt for a 
safer fit on children. 

 
 
Safety Restraint Laws (Effective May 2008): 
• Utah law requires all motor vehicle occupants to 

wear a seatbelt when traveling in a motor 
vehicle. This is a secondary enforcement law 
which means an adult may be issued a citation 
and subject to a $45 fine only when the police 
officer has stopped the vehicle for another 
reason. 

• The law is a primary enforcement law for drivers 
and passengers under age 19 years. 
⇒ Children age 7 years and under must ride in 

an approved child safety seat; and 
⇒ Children aged 8 to 18 years must ride in an 

appropriate child restraint or seatbelt. 
⇒ There are a few exemptions to the law. 

Contact the Highway Safety Office for more 
information. 

This primary enforcement law means a person 
may be issued a citation and subject to a fine of 
not more than $45 if a law enforcement officer 
notices children are not properly restrained. 

OCCUPANT PROTECTION 
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• 78% of crash occupants fully ejected from 
a motor vehicle were unbelted. 

• Unbelted occupants were 80 times more 
likely to be fully ejected than belted 
occupants. 

Ejection of Unbelted Crash 
Occupants (Utah 2006) 




