
Expungements



UTAH CODE
"Expunge" means to seal or 

otherwise restrict access to the 

petitioner's record held by an 

agency when the record 

includes a criminal 

investigation, detention, arrest, 

or conviction.

UCA 77-40-102 (8)



UTAH CODE

UCA 77-40-(104-105)

What can be expunged?

• Any Utah adult criminal offence that meets the criteria

established in Utah Criminal and Traffic Code Annotated



HOW TO APPLY 

FOR AN 

EXPUNGEMENT

Begin with the Utah Bureau of  

Criminal Identification

• Apply in person at BCI 

• Download the application 

from 

bci.utah.gov/expungements 

and mail the form to: 

Utah BCI

3888 West 5400 South

Taylorsville, UT 84129



EXPUNGEMENT APPLICATION

• The application fee is $50.00 
and is non-refundable 

• Only need one application per 
applicant

• Review of  entire criminal 
history 

• Fingerprints are required with 
application

• Cannot apply over the phone or 
via email

• May include a Third Party 
Release Form



EXPUNGEMENT APPLICATION

• Every applicant will receive a mailed notification 

regarding their eligibility

• The time frame between applying and receiving the 

decision letter may vary depending on the number of  

applications at the time 

• The current time frame is between 13-15 weeks out



EXPUNGEMENT APPLICATION

*BCI Expungements only issues one 

response letter. If  a Third Party Release 

Form is submitted with the application 

only the third party will be notified of  

the eligibility decision.



EXPUNGEMENT APPLICATION

• BCI averages between 300-400 

expungement applications a month

• Over 4,065 cases were expunged 

last year (2016)



RESEARCH



RESEARCH

Files used to research eligibility

UCH SWW

NCIC Police Records

NLETS/III Court Records

Corrections 

Information

Previous

Expungements



IMPORTANT

BCI checks many files 
and sometimes 
research may be 
delayed due to:

• No fingerprints on 
file = not on UCH

• Missing dispositions 

• Unclear ending date 
or case status



PENDING EXPUNGEMENT

No record

• Obtain a copy of  disposition or arrest 

BCI unable to obtain disposition

• Individual must obtain a copy of  the court disposition



UNABLE TO PROCESS



DENIALS





AUTOMATIC DENIAL

Capital Felonies Felony DUI’s

• 41-6a-501(2)

1st Degree Felonies Sexual Offenses

• 77-27-21.5(1)

Violent Felonies

• 76-3-203.5(1)

Pending Investigations

Automobile Homicides Pending Fees*



DENIAL CRITERIA

*Pending fees may include any 

unpaid fines, restitution, 

supervising fees, or interest



DENIAL CRITERIA

Time frame

• Does not begin until ALL confinement &/or 

probation has been completed

More than 4 convictions (Not stemming from 

the same arrest)

Current situations

• On probation

• On parole

• Incarcerated



CONVICTIONS

• Allowed up to four convictions 

except cannot have:

• Two felonies

• Two misdemeanor A’s + one

• Three misdemeanor B’s + one

• Four misdemeanor C’s + one 

• There is no limit on infraction 

convictions in and of  themselves



CONVICTIONS

• Drug conviction exceptions: in addition 

to criteria for expungement, the 

petitioner is allowed up to four drug 

possession offenses



CONVICTIONS

• Three or more felony convictions for drug possession each contained in 

separate episodes.

• Any combination of  five or more convictions for drug possession 

offenses.

• If  charged with a drug possession and a higher charge with a longer 

wait period, you would have to wait the longer time frame.



CONVICTIONS

Qualifying example:

• Petitioner has the following on their 

record:

• MB Retail theft conviction

• MC Disorderly Conduct 

conviction

• MB Simple Assault conviction

• MC Intoxication conviction

• MB Possession of  Drug 

Paraphernalia conviction

Denial Example:

• Petitioner has the following on their 

record:

• MB Retail theft conviction

• MC Disorderly Conduct 

conviction

• MB Simple Assault conviction

• MC Intoxication conviction

• MA Distribute/Offer/Arrange to 

Dist. C/S



CONVICTIONS
The case will be 

counted as a NON drug 

conviction as defined in 

U.C.A. 77-40-105(5)(6)

What if  they were 

convicted of  both a 

misdemeanor B for 

assault and a 

misdemeanor B for 

possession on the 

same case?



2017 LEGISLATIVE 

CHANGE WITH 

CONVICTIONS
UCA 77-40-105(8) 

If  at least 10 years have elapsed from the 

date the petitioner was convicted or 

released from incarceration, parole, or 

probation, whichever occurred last, for all 

convictions, then each eligibility limit 

defined in Subsection (5) shall be 

increased by one.



TIME FRAME

• When determining time frames, it is important to note that the time 

period does not begin until all confinement and probation have been 

completed. If  a fine or restitution were a part of  the probation, the 

payment of  those fines will also affect the time period.

• When unclear, the Expungement section may call the courts to verify 

when probation on a case ended.

• BCI cannot look up customers’ cases to tell them when they closed.



TIME FRAME

Dismissals

• 30 days from date of  arrest (if with prejudice or 

completed a Plea in Abeyance or Diversion agreement)

Any alcohol or drug-related traffic incident

• 10 years

Eligible felony

• 7 years



TIME FRAME

Class A misdemeanor

• 5 years

Class B misdemeanor

• 4 years

Class C

misdemeanor/infractions

• 3 years



APPROVAL



APPROVAL

Two types of  

approval: 

complete/partial





APPROVAL

Two types of  

approval: 

complete/partial





APPROVAL

Approval letter sent with payment 

notification
• Mail in payment w/payment part of  letter

• Pay in person at BCI

Certificates will be mailed after payment is 

received

No fee

• Certificate will be mailed with original 

approval notification



ELIGIBILITY FEES

No charge:

• Dismissal

• Declined to prosecute

• Fail to file

Fee will be assessed:

• Plea in abeyance

• Diversion agreements



ELIGIBILITY FEES 

Conviction certificate

• $56 each

• If  charges on arrest resulted in a conviction, fee is 

required

One certificate per arrest, not per charge



APPEAL

30 days to file an appeal

Must include:

• Signature of  applicant

• Grounds for review

• The relief  requested

• Date appeal was mailed

BCI upholds denial decision

• Petitioner may appeal to district court



CERTIFICATE OF ELIGIBILITY

States the criminal record 
which is the subject of  
petition for expungement is 
eligible, but does not 
guarantee expungement of  
that case

• Certificate is valid only for 
the case listed on the 
certificate of  eligibility

• Issued by BCI





SPECIAL CERTIFICATES

BCI issues a special certificate

•After reasonable research

•Disposition is unobtainable

Gives discretion of  eligibility to the court





NOT CERTIFICATES

The following forms are not certificates of  

expungement eligibility:

Individual’s RAP sheet attached

No record found



Bear, Yogi



Bear, Yogi



EXPUNGEMENT CERTIFICATES

Petitioner has 90 days from date of  

issue to petition court.

Court must accept petition and 

certificate before it may be filed with 

the prosecutor.



Petitioning 

the Court

• Must petition court of  judgement

• Only judge can approve 

Court procedures and 

fees are set by the 

Administrative Office 

of  the Courts (AOC)

• UCA 78A-2-301



Utah Code

44-40-(101-113)

“A court may not 
expunge a conviction 
of  an offense for 
which a certificate of  
eligibility may not be 
or should not have 
been issued under 
section 77-40-104 or 
77-40-105.”



PETITIONING THE PROSECUTION

Petitioner must deliver to prosecution:

• Copy of  petition

• Certificate

Prosecutor:

• Notify victim at last known address by first class mail

Prosecutor and/or victim have 30 days to file any objections or 

recommendations



NOTICE TO VICTIM

Notice to the victim should 

include:

Copy of  petition

Certificate of  eligibility

Statutes and files that apply

Right to object

Procedures to register an objection



OTHER AGENCIES

The court may request a written response from AP&P

• Should include reasons probation was terminated

• Certify all requirements of  sentence were met

A copy should also be sent to prosecutor



EXUNGEMENT CERTIFICATES

If no objections received by court within 60 

days, expungements may be granted

Must ensure that prosecutor and victim have

been notified

Court may re-check background before issuing 

order

• New offenses may have occurred



FINALIZING THE EXPUNGEMENT



ORDERS OF EXPUNGEMENT

• Defendant’s name and date 

of  birth

• Date of  arrest

• Charges and class

• Court name

• Court disposition and date

• Court case number

• Judge’s signature and seal



*BCI will only accept an 

original, certified copy of  the 

order of  expungement*



ORDERS OF EXPUNGEMENT

Distribute to:

Arresting agency

BCI

• Only need one copy, we will forward 

it on to the FBI

Prosecutor’s office

Booking agency (Jail)*

Department of  Corrections*

Keep one for personal records

*If  they were 

involved



Remember:
*Black out name if  multiple individuals on 

arrest record

*Agencies must maintain their own record at 

their own site- BCI doesn’t maintain these



COMPLETED

Offense deleted off  UCH

BCI

• Sends copy of  order to 

FBI

• Seals record

• Confirmation letter sent



Confirmation 

Letter



COMPLETED

UCA 77-40-108(2)

•Once a record is expunged, the 

applicant may respond to any 

inquiry as though the arrest or 

conviction did not occur



COMPLETED

Only BCI may access expunged record

information

•Per UCA 77-40-109



The following organizations may receive 

expunged records:

Board of  Pardons and Parole

Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST)

Federal Authorities

• Unless prohibited by Federal Law

Department of  Commerce

Department of  Insurance

State Board of  Education



OPEN EXPUNGED RECORDS

Reasons

•77-40-109(4)(5)

•Civil Action 77-40-110



OTHER TYPES OF EXPUNGEMENTS

2017 Legislative changes



TRAFFIC 

EXPUNGEMENT



EXPUNGEMENT OF TRAFFIC OFFENSES

Senate Bill 201

This bill allows most traffic offenses to be 

expunged without limit. Provides that traffic 

offense are not included in determining if  a 

person is eligible for expungement*.

Petitioner can only expunge traffic charges 

from court records; expungement will not 

affect driving record.



UCA 77-40-105(4)

“The bureau may not 

count infractions, traffic 

offenses, or minor 

regulatory offenses when 

determining 

expungement eligibility.”



NAME REMOVAL FROM SEX OFFENDER REGISTRY

Offender Registry Review 

The fee to apply is $168.00

If  eligible, the certificate fee is $25.00  

HB 13

This bill allows a person on the Sex Offender and Kidnap Offender Registry to petition 

the court for removal after five years for certain offenses:

*Unlawful sexual conduct with a 16-17 year old

*Unlawful sexual activity with a minor

HB 18

This bill provides a judicial process offender 76-5-301 regarding kidnapping or 76-5-

301 unlawful detention may petition court for removal from registry



PARDONS

Must apply for Board of  Pardon Expungement and 

pay $50 application fee

• Provide pardon documentation with application

DOES NOT count against limit of  expungements

• All pardoned crimes will be expunged

• No longer maintain a record of  pardons



ANY QUESTIONS?



CONTACT INFORMATION

(801) 965-4445 Option 5

publicsafety.utah.gov

bciexpungements@utah.gov


