
C R I T E R I A  F O R  A  

C E R T I F I C A T E  O F  

E L I G I B I L I T Y  

Waiting Period to Expunge a  
Record of Conviction 

Felony 
7 years (5 years 

for drug offenses) 

Class A misdemeanor 5 Years 

Class B misdemeanor 4 years 

Class C misdemeanor 
or infraction 

3 years 

Misdemeanor DUI 10 years 

A petitioner seeking to expunge a 
record of arrest, investigation, 

detention or conviction, including a 
traffic offense*, must first obtain a  
certificate of eligibility from BCI. 

Offenses that Cannot  
be Expunged 

Capitol Offense 

First Degree Felony 

Violent Felony 

Automobile Homicide 

Felony DUI  

Registerable Sex Offense 

Registerable Child Abuse Offense 

Circumstances in Which a Record of  
Arrest can be Expunged if 30 Days Have 

Passed and There Are No Criminal  
Charges Pending Against the Petitioner 

The case was screened by the police and the 
prosecutor declined to file charges. 

The case was dismissed with prejudice. 

The petitioner was acquitted at trial. 

The statute of limitations has expired.  

FEES 

A petitioner seeking a certificate of  eligibility 
must pay an initial application fee of $65.00. 

If the petitioner is eligible to receive a certificate 
of eligibility for a record of conviction, the peti-
tioner must pay an issuance fee of $65.00.   

If the petitioner is eligible to receive a certificate 
of eligibility for a record involving a plea which 
has been dismissed pursuant to plea in abeyance 
or diversion agreement, the petitioner must pay 
an issuance fee of $65.00.  

If the petition is eligible to receive a certificate 
of eligibility for a record of  arrest, investiga-
tion, or detention involving a case that has been 
declined, otherwise dismissed or in which the 
petitioner was acquitted, there is no issuance fee. 

*Traffic offenses will only be expunged from court 
records, not Driver License records. 



Other Circumstances in which a Record 
of Conviction Cannot be Expunged 

A criminal proceeding is pending against 
the petitioner. 

The petitioner intentionally or knowingly 
provides false or misleading information on 

the application for a Certificate of  
Eligibility. 

If all fines and interest ordered by the court 
related to the conviction for which expunge-

ment is sought have not been paid in full. 

If all restitution ordered by the court or the 
Utah Board of Pardons and Parole has not 

been paid in full. 

A petitioner who has been denied a Certificate 
of Expungement Eligibility from BCI, may 

still obtain an order of expungement from the 
Utah Board of Pardons and Parole. 

Non-Drug Convictions** Which Would 
Render a Petitioner Ineligible to 

Obtain a Certificate of Expungement  
Eligibility 

Two or more felony convictions, each of 
which is contained in a separate  

criminal episode.  

Any combination of three or more convic-
tions, that include two class A misdemeanor 
convictions, each of which is contained in a  

separate criminal episode.  

Any combination of four or more convictions, 
that include three class B misdemeanor 

convictions, each of which is contained in a 
separate criminal episode.  

Five or more convictions of any degree  
whether misdemeanor or felony, excluding  
infractions, each of which is contained in a  

separate criminal episode. 

Overview of the Expungement Process 

If a petitioner is eligible to expunge the 
most serious conviction in a case, the  

petitioner may expunge all 
convictions included within a single 

criminal episode. 

**A petitioner who has three or more felony 
convictions for drug possession offenses or 

any combination of five or more convictions 
for drug possession offenses, each of which 
is contained in a separate criminal episode, 
will not be eligible to receive a Certificate 

of Expungement Eligibility. Petitioner 
must  

purchase  
Certificate(s) 

Submit an  
Expungement 
Application 

to BCI. Petitioner 
must file  

a petition for  
expungement 
with the court. 

Petitioner 
must  

provide 
notice to 

the  
prosecutor. 

Prosecutor 
must provide 
notice to the 

victim. 

If there is no  
objection, the  

expungement is 
granted by the 

court. 

If there is an 
objection, the 

court must 
hold a hearing. 


