APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS FOR CERTIFICATE OF ELIGIBILTY

Enclosed is an Application for a Certificate of Eligibility to expunge a record of arrest, traffic, detention, investigation or
conviction from the State of Utah, Department of Public Safety, Bureau of Criminal Identification. Please complete all of
the steps described below. Failure to properly complete one of the steps may cause a delay in processing your application.

1.

Fill out the top portion of the application. List all of your previous names including married and maiden names.
Be sure to read and sign the application.

If you would like your traffic offenses ( DUI IS NOT A TRAFFIC OFFENSE) considered in the review of your
eligibility for expungement, please check the box designated for “traffic” on the Application for Certificate
of Eligibility. Traffic offenses listed under Utah Code Ann. 877-40-102(40) are not included on your Utah
Criminal History.

If your traffic offenses are approved for a Certificate of Expungement Eligibility, there is a $65.00 fee
charged for each case that resulted in a conviction, bail forfeiture, plea in abeyance or diversion
agreement. Please note that there will be additional fees charged by the court when you file the Certificate
of Expungement Eligibility with the Petition for Expungement at the court.

If the court issues an Order of Expungement, the traffic offense will be removed from court and police
records only. Traffic offenses will not be removed from your Utah Driver License record.

Take the application to a law enforcement agency such as your city police department or county sheriff’s office.
Request that they print the four fingers of your right hand on the space provided. Make sure the law enforcement
official who takes your fingerprints fills out the portion of the application labeled “OFFICIAL TAKING
PRINTS.” Valid government-issued photo ID must be provided; for example, passport, state ID card, consulate
ID card, or driver license. “Utah Driving Privilege Cards” WILL NOT be accepted by BCI as valid ID.
Utah Driving Privilege Cards state on them that they are not to be used as ID. NOTE: The fingerprints
may be taken at our office, Bureau of Criminal Identification, 3888 West 5400 South, Taylorsville, Utah.

The application fee is $65.00. Select a method of payment by making a check mark in the appropriate box.
Checks and money orders must be made payable to “BCI.” To pay by credit card (Visa, MasterCard, Discover or
AMEX), please fill out the requested information on the application. Credit card numbers must include: the
signature of the cardholder, the three or four-digit control number located on the back of the card, the expiration
date, and the zip code of card billing address. Cash is accepted only when applying in person. DO NOT SEND
CASH IN THE MAIL.

Your eligibility letter will be mailed to the mailing address indicated on the application form. If you need the
information to be sent to a third party, the third party release form must be filled out and submitted along with
your application.

Mail the application, fee and release form (if applicable) to:
UTAH BUREAU OF CRIMINAL IDENTIFICATION
3888 West 5400 South
Taylorsville, Utah 84129

If you were acquitted of your charges, you must mark the box on the application form in order for the bureau to
expedite your application. You must include documentation to indicate the charges were acquitted.

For expungement criteria or any other questions, please go to our website at https://bci.utah.gov/expungements/
The Bureau of Criminal Identification does not expunge Juvenile Court records. Any request to expunge
Juvenile Court records must be made directly to the Juvenile Court.



https://bci.utah.gov/expungements/

APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATE OF ELIGIBILITY

Utah Department of Public Safety *« Bureau of Criminal Identification
3888 West 5400 South, Taylorsville, Utah 84129

Your application will not be processed unless all sections of this form are filled out completely and accompanied by a
$65.00 application fee.

NAME: DATE OF BIRTH
(Last Name) (First Name) (Middle Name)

GENDER

PREVIOUSLY USED NAME(S) (Maiden, AKA, etc.)

MAILING ADDRESS:

(Street/Box number) (City) (State) (Zip)
SOCIAL SECURITY: DRIVER LICENSE # AND STATE: /

PRIMARY PHONE NUMBER:

CHECK THE FOLLOWING BOX IF TRAFFIC EXPUNGEMENT IS WANTED. (FEES APPLY) 0
A DUI IS NOT A TRAFFIC OFFENSE. CHARGES WILL BE DELETED FROM COURT RECORDS, NOT DRIVER LICENSE FILES.

CHECK THE FOLLOWING BOX IF ACQUITTAL - DOCUMENTATION MUST BE PROVIDED FOR EXPEDITED PROCESSING. []
A DISMISSAL IS NOT AN ACQUITTAL.

Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. § 77-40-106(1)(b), a petitioner who intentionally or knowingly provides false or misleading information to the bureau when
applying for a certificate of eligibility is guilty of a class B misdemeanor and subject to prosecution under Section 76-8-504.6. A certification of
eligibility or an application for expungement may be denied if the petitioner provides false information.

| , declare under criminal penalty of the State of Utah that the foregoing is true and correct.
(Name of Petitioner)

(Signature)

(Date)

METHOD OF PAYMENT (Only to be filled out if application is mailed in. Check appropriate box for payment) Application fee is $65.00

[] Check, Money Order or Cashier’s Check (Payable to “BCI”) There will be a $20.00 service charge for any returned check.
[ ] credit card (cannot use foreign credit cards) must be [ ] visa[ ] Master card [ | Discover [ | AMEX

Fill out the information below to pay by credit card. *3 or 4 digit control # Exp Date MM/YY
Cardholder signature: Zip Code Associated with Credit Card:

FINGERPRINT INSTRUCTIONS: (OFFICIAL TAKING PRINTS) Confirm identity of applicant with identification that shows photo, signature and date of birth.
Confirm ID with the information above, then list the type of government issued ID used and the ID number in the space provided below. Fingerprint the four fingers of the
applicant’s right hand simultaneously in the box located in the lower right portion of this form.

OFFICIAL TAKING PRINTS FINGERPRINTS

Type of identification used:
Utah Driving Privilege Cards are not valid ID and will not be accepted

Identification number:

Name on ID:

Fingerprints taken by:

(Print Name)
Agency Name; Badge #
(If applicable)

Date Printed:

BUREAU USE ONLY  AFIS Confirmation

SID# R&F

Last updated 04-16-2019




