

1776 Avenue of the States Lexington, KY 40511 859-244-8222 emap@csg.org www.emap.org

**EMAP Commission** 

Robie Robinson, *Chairperson* Jared Gartman, *Vice Chairperson* Karen Windon, *Secretary-Treasurer* John Ash Geoffrey Bartlett Mike Daniska Judd Freed Peter Gaynor Barb Graff Bryan Koon Alisha Powell Joseph Wainscott

## **EMAP Personnel**

Nicole Ishmael, Executive Director Christine Jacobs, Assistant Director Scott Gauvin, Federal Projects Specialist David Liebman, Assessment Coordinator Lindsey Shafer, Training Coordinator April 28, 2017

Governor Gary Herbert State of Utah 350 North State Street Suite 200 Salt Lake City, Utah 84114

Governor Herbert:

On behalf of the EMAP Commission, I am pleased to inform you that the emergency management program of the State of Utah has been granted full accreditation by the Emergency Management Accreditation Program (EMAP). Upon recommendation by the Program Review Committee, the EMAP Commission voted on the State of Utah's accreditation at its meeting on April 27, 2017.

Emergency management accreditation represents a significant achievement. The State of Utah is commended for the work accomplished to achieve compliance with industry standards. To achieve accreditation, your program, which includes many agencies and individuals within the program, took steps to document compliance with sixty-four industry-recognized standards and a peer-review on-site assessment by a team of EMAP trained assessors.

Accreditation recognizes the ability of programs to bring together personnel, resources, and communications from a variety of agencies and organizations in preparation for and in response to a disaster of any type. We applaud the State of Utah's leadership and congratulate you on your commitment to achieve accreditation. More importantly, we recognize the dedication to the safety and security of the residents that it represents.

Attached for your use is a news release regarding this noble achievement. In the coming weeks, EMAP will provide a plaque recognizing the State of Utah's accredited status. If the EMAP personnel or I can be of assistance or provide more information, please contact us.

Respectfully,

THE LODIAS

Robie Robinson Chairperson, EMAP Commission

Cc: Keith Squires, Department Commissioner, Utah Department of Public Safety; Kris Hamlet, Director, Utah Division of Emergency Management; and Amisha Lester, Special Projects Coordinator, Utah Division of Emergency Management.