Minutes

Standards and Training Council

Date: January 2, 2019

COUNCIL MEMBERS: Robert DeKorver, Todd Smith, Ray Stokes, , Gary Hodson, David Larsen, Paul Hewitt, Ray Stokes

UFRA: Jolene Chamberlain, Darryl Pranger, Brad Wardle

STAFF: Ted Black

- Meeting called to order by Council Chair. The meeting was called to order by Chair Robert Dekorver.
- 2. Approval of the September 5, 2018 meeting minutes. The minutes for the September meeting were not available. Ray Stokes motioned to table approval of the minutes until the next meeting when minutes would be available for review. David Larsen seconded the motion. The vote was unanimous to table approval of the minutes.
- 3. Report from the Certification Council. Ray Stokes reported that the Certification Council is functioning as intended.
- 4. Election of new Chair and Vice Chair. Ray Stokes nominated Robert Dekorver to remain as Chair. Paul Hewitt seconded the motion. There were no other nominations. The vote to have Robert Dekorver continue as Chair was unanimous in favor of the motion. Ray Stokes nominated Gary Hodson as Vice Chair. The motion was seconded by Paul Hewitt. There were no other nominations. The vote was unanimous to have Gary Hodson serve as Vice Chair.
- 5. Discussion on the re-accreditation of non-affiliated training organizations. The bodies that need re-accreditation as a non-affiliated training organization are: UVU, West Valley, Davis ATC, and Bridgerland ATC.
- 6. Make assignments for the pending re-accreditation of non-affiliated training organizations, to be completed in 2019. They are all due in May. Jolene Chamberlain will make the assignments for Council members to participate in the re-accreditations. It was emphasized that each Council member should participate in at least one of the re-accreditations as it is one of the primary responsibilities of the Council. Jolene noted that these organizations have until November to complete the re-accreditation process.
- 7. Old Business. Brad Wardle gave a brief explanation of UFRA facility plans for the future and outlined the potential options.
- 8. New Business. Dennis Goudy was recognized as employee of the year for UFRA. This is the first time UFRA has given this award. Adam Davies of SLC Fire is being presented to the Fire Prevention Board for appointment to the Hazardous Materials Advisory Council representing UFRA. He will be replacing Ryan Petersen.
- 9. Report from council members and staff. No reports from members or staff.

- 10. Proposed meeting schedule, for 2019. Meeting schedule was approved by the Council.
 - a. January 2
 - b. May 2 (Corrected to May 1)
 - c. September 4
 - d. November 6
- 11. Next Meeting May 2, 2018. The next meeting date was corrected to May 1, 2019. ? made a motion to adjourn the meeting. ? seconded the motion. The vote to adjourn was unanimous.