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2008 Utah Crash Facts 

Wearing a seat belt is one of the 
best ways to decrease injuries and 
deaths in motor vehicle crashes. 
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• The highest percentage of unrestrained 
crash occupants were aged 10-24 years. 

Unrestrained Crash Occupants by Age 
(Utah 2008) 

• Occupants in rural crashes were 3.1 times more 
likely to be unrestrained than urban occupants. 

Unrestrained Crash Occupants by County 
(Utah 2008) 

Occupant 
 Protection Did you know in 2008: 

• Unrestrained crash occupants were 29 times more likely to die in a crash than restrained occupants. 
• An estimated 128 lives were saved because of restraint use. (National Highway Traffic Safety Administration) 
• Occupants in pickup trucks were the least likely to be restrained. 
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• 11:00 p.m. to 5:59 a.m. had the highest 
percentage of unrestrained crash occupants. 

Unrestrained Crash Occupants by Hour 
(Utah 2008) 
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Restraint Use by Injury Severity (Utah 2008) 

• Over 97% of persons who survived a crash were 
restrained compared to only half (56%) of the 
persons killed. 
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• The older the child the less likely they were using a child 
safety seat. 

• While 86% of children 0-1 years in a crash were in a child 
safety seat, only 67% of 4-year-olds, 38% of 6-year-olds, 
and 9% of 8-year-olds were in a child safety seat. 

• The decrease in child safety seat use for children aged 4-8 
years is concerning and indicates that children are moving 
to adult-sized seat belts too early.  

Percent of Children Aged 0-8 Years in Crashes Using 
Child Safety Seats (Utah 2008) 

Child Safety Seat Recommendations: 
• Infants should be placed in a rear-facing 

safety seat until they are at least 20 
pounds and 1 year of age. 

• Never place a rear-facing child safety 
seat in the front seat of a vehicle with a 
passenger side air bag. 

• Children at least 1 year of age weighing 
20-40 pounds should ride in forward 
facing child safety seats. 

• Older children (approximately 4-8 years 
of age) should ride in belt-positioning 
booster seats until they are 4’9” tall and 
the seat belt fits properly. Booster seats 
help position an adult-size seat belt for 
a safer fit on children. 

• The safest place for any child aged 12 
and under is in the back seat of the 
vehicle. 

 
Seat Belt Recommendations: 
• Always use both the lap and shoulder 

belt. When worn properly, the shoulder 
belt should fit across the collar bone 
and the lap belt should fit low over the 
hips. 

• Never place the shoulder strap under 
your arm or behind your back. 

 
Safety Restraint Laws: 
• Utah law requires all motor vehicle 

occupants to wear a seat belt. This is a 
secondary enforcement law for drivers 
and passengers age 19 years and 
older. This means an adult may be 
issued a citation and a $45 fine only 
when the police officer has stopped the 
vehicle for another reason. 

• The law is a primary enforcement law 
for drivers and passengers under age 
19 years. 
⇒ Children age 7 years and under must 

ride in an approved child safety seat. 
⇒ Children aged 8 to 18 years must 

ride in an appropriate child restraint 
or seat belt. 

⇒ There are a few exemptions to the 
law. Contact the Highway Safety 
Office for more 
information. 

 This primary enforcement 
law means a person may be 
stopped and issued a citation 
for simply not buckling up. 

Occupant 
 Protection 
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Ejection and Restraint 
Use (Utah 2008) 

• 67% of crash occupants 
fully ejected from a motor 
vehicle were unrestrained. 

• Unrestrained occupants 
were 79 times more likely 
to be fully ejected than 
restrained occupants. 
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• In 2008, a law was passed 
increasing the age of child 
safety seat use from up to 
age four years to up to age 
eight years. 

• In 2008, booster seat use 
among ages 4-7 years in 
crashes increased to 46%. 

• Passage of the law increased 
booster seat use 31%. 

Effectiveness of Booster Seat 
Law (Utah 2008) 




