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Wearing a seat belt is one of the

best ways to decrease injuries and O CCuU p a nt

deaths in motor vehicle crashes.

Protection

Did you know in 2011:
e Unrestrained crash occupants were 40 times more likely to die in a crash than restrained occupants.
¢ An estimated 102 lives were saved because of restraint use. (National Highway Traffic Safety Administration)
¢ An estimated 41 additional lives would have been saved if everyone had been wearing seat belts.
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Hour of Day

e 11:00 p.m. to 4:59 a.m. had the highest
percentage of unrestrained crash occupants.

« Rural areas had lower restraint use for nearly
every hour of the day than urban areas.

e Occupants in rural crashes were 1.6 times more
likely to be unrestrained than urban occupants.

Unrestrained Crash Occupants by Age Restraint Use by Injury Severity (Utah 2011)

(Utah 2011)
100%
4% = B Restrained
s 75% A B Unrestrained
3% %

S ]
[ ﬂ = 50% 1
e 2% £
c © ©
- 5 oo |
23 10 - 5 25%
0 (14
2 0% A 0% -

TOTOITODTOITOOTOYT OT O T + Non-Injured Injured Killed

QLT TANYRRITHLLOON N D0

SLRRVBILBBIBRLS Persons
Age (Years) )

_ _ « Over 97% of persons who survived a crash

« The highest percentage of unrestrained crash were restrained compared to half (48%) of the
occupants were 15-19 years and 80+ years. persons killed.
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Effectiveness of Booster Seat
Law (Utah 2004-2011)

70%

Ages 4-7 Years in Booster Seats

e In 2008, a law was passed
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Ejection and Restraint
Use (Utah 2011)
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increasing the age of child
safety seat use from up to age  « 59% of crash occupants

4 years to up to age 8 years.

¢ In 2011, booster seat use
among ages 4-7 years in
crashes increased to 58%.

« Booster seat use increased
66% since passage of the law.

fully ejected from a motor

« Unrestrained occupants
were 55 times more likely
to be fully ejected than
restrained occupants.

Percent of Children Aged 0-8 Years in Crashes Using
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Children in Child Safety Seats

Child Safety Seats (Utah 2011)
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e The older the child the less likely they were using a child

safety seat.

« While 91% of 1-year-olds in a crash were in a child safety
seat, only 76% of 4-year-olds, 48% of 6-year-olds, and 9%
of 8-year-olds were in a child safety seat.

« The decrease in child safety seat use for children aged 4-8
years is concerning and indicates that children are moving
to adult-sized seat belts too early.
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vehicle were unrestrained.

Occupant
Protection

Child Safety Seat Recommendations:

¢ Infants should be placed in a rear-facing
safety seat until they are at least 20
pounds and 1 year of age.

¢ Never place a rear-facing child safety
seat in the front seat of a vehicle with a
passenger side air bag.

e Children at least 1 year of age weighing
20-40 pounds should ride in forward
facing child safety seats.

e Older children (approximately 4-8 years
of age) should ride in belt-positioning
booster seats until they are 4’9” tall and
the seat belt fits properly. Booster seats
help position an adult-size seat belt for
a safer fit on children.

o The safest place for any child aged 12
and under is in the back seat of the
vehicle.

Seat Belt Recommendations:

o Always use both the lap and shoulder
belt. When worn properly, the shoulder
belt should fit across the collar bone
and the lap belt should fit low over the
hips.

¢ Never place the shoulder strap under
the arm or behind the back.

Safety Restraint Laws:

e Utah law requires all motor vehicle
occupants to wear a seat belt. This is a
secondary enforcement law for drivers
and passengers age 19 years and
older. This means an adult may be
issued a citation and a $45 fine only
when the police officer has stopped the
vehicle for another reason.

e The law is a primary enforcement law
for drivers and passengers under age
19 years.
= Children age 7 years and under must

ride in an approved child safety seat.
= Children aged 8 to 18 years must
ride in an appropriate child restraint
or seat belt.
= There are a few exemptions to the
law. Contact the Highway Safety
Office for more information.
This primary enforcement law
means a person may be
stopped and issued a citation
for simply not buckling up.
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