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2015 Utah Crash Facts

Did you know in 2015:
e Teenage drivers represented 9% of the

. ivers . Teenage Drivers
licensed drivers in Utah, yet they were in 21%
of all motor vehicle crashes. (15-19 yearS)

e Teenage drivers were in 12,395 motor vehicle
crashes which resulted in 5,704 injured persons and 30 deaths.

e Teenage drivers were 1.7 times more likely to be in a crash than drivers of other ages.

e Teen driver crashes have shown a decreasing trend since 1996.

Crash Rates per Licensed Driver by Age Teenage Driver Crashes by Travel Speed
(Utah 2015) (Utah 2015)
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Sy So Yo %o Yo %o o " traveling 50 MPH or higher were 8.3 times
. Drivers aged 16-18 Driver Age more likely to be fatal.
years had the
highest total crash Leading Contributing Factors of Teenage Driver Crashes (Utah 2015)
rate per licensed All Teenage Driver Crashes
driver. 1. Followed Too Closely (21%)

2. Failed to Yield Right of Way (18%)
3. Speed Too Fast (12%)
4. Driver Distraction (9%)
5. Failed to Keep in Proper Lane (8%)
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Teenage Driver Crashes by Day T

of Week (Utah 2015) Teenage Drivers
(15-19 years)

Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL)
Law in Utah

18%

12% o

Crashes
6% GDL allows beginning drivers the
chance to build experience before they

are exposed to more high-risk
0% - ) situations, such as carrying teen
Sun Mon  Tue Day \(/)er(\jNeekThu Fr sat passengers and nighttime driving.
Easing young drivers onto the

« Teen driver crashes occurred more often on weekdays. roadways can reduce the number of
traffic crashes involving young drivers.

Teenage Driver Crash Trend (Utah 2006-2015) Learner Permit
A person must be at least 15 years old

150 to apply for a learner permit. Anyone
who is under 18 years of age is
required to hold a learner permit for six
months before applying for a license.
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Supervised Driving

Everyone under 18 years of age
applying for a license must complete
40 hours of driving, of which at least 10
hours must be during night hours. This
allows beginning drivers to practice and
50 gain supervised experience.

Driver License
25 — A person must be at least 16 years of
e = — age to get a driver license. Everyone

who has never been licensed to drive a

0 ' ' ' ' ' ' ' ' ' motor vehicle must complete an
2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 approved driver education course.

Year
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Crash Rate per Licensed Drivers

Night-time Restrictions

. . . Anyone under the age of 17 years may
« The teenage driver crash rate per licensed driver decreased not drive from midnight to 5:00 a.m,

37% from 2006 to 2015. except in a limited number of

situations. The majority of fatal teen

Teenage Driver Crashes by Hour (Utah 2015) crashes take place at night.

Passenger Restrictions
12% For the first six months of licensure,
teen drivers can not drive with any

10% passenger who is not an immediate
8% family member with a few exceptions.
/ Teen drivers are more likely to crash
6% with passengers in the car, especially
Crashes teen passengers. The more
4% / passengers, the greater the risk.
; i Seat Belt Restrictions

2%
All occupants under the age of 19
0% | B N B B RN N R B B BN R S R R BN R R RN R R R R | years must be properly restrained in a
01234567 891011121314151617181920212223 motor vehicle. This is a primary law
Hour which means a person may be stopped
by law enforcement solely for that

« Teenage-driver crashes peaked during after-school hours

(2:00 p.m.-6:59 p.m.). offense.
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