
2016 Utah Crash Facts 

Leading Contributing Factors of Teenage Driver Crashes (Utah 2016) 
All Teenage Driver Crashes 
1. Followed Too Closely (21%) 
2. Failed to Yield Right of Way (18%) 
3. Speed Too Fast (13%) 
4. Driver Distraction (9%) 
5. Failed to Keep in Proper Lane (8%) 

Did you know in 2016: 
Teenage drivers represented 9% of the 

licensed drivers in Utah, yet they were in 21% 
of all motor vehicle crashes. 

Teenage drivers were in 13,159 motor vehicle 
crashes which resulted in 5,900 injured persons and 45 deaths. 

Teenage drivers were 1.7 times more likely to be in a crash than drivers of other ages. 
After having a decreasing trend since 1996, teen driver crashes have increased the last 3 years.  

Teenage Drivers         
 (15-19 years) 
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Teenage Driver Crashes by Travel Speed 
(Utah 2016) 

Crashes involving teenage driver vehicles 
traveling 50 MPH or higher were 5.5 times 
more likely to be fatal. 
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Crash Rates per Licensed Driver by Age 
(Utah 2016) 

Drivers aged 17-18 
years had the 
highest total crash 
rate per licensed 
driver. 
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Teenage Drivers         
 (15-19 years) 

Teenage Driver Crashes by Day 
of Week (Utah 2016) 

Teen driver crashes occurred more often on weekdays. 

Graduated Driver Licensing 
(GDL) Law in Utah 

 

GDL allows beginning drivers the 
chance to build experience before 
they are exposed to more high-risk 
situations, such as carrying teen 
passengers and nighttime driving. 
Easing young drivers onto the 
roadways can reduce the number of 
traffic crashes involving young 
drivers. 
 

Learner Permit 
A person must be at least 15 years 
old to apply for a learner permit. 
Anyone who is under 18 years of age 
is required to hold a learner permit for 
six months before applying for a 
license. 
 

Supervised Driving 
Everyone under 18 years of age 
applying for a license must complete 
40 hours of driving, of which at least 
10 hours must be during night hours. 
This allows beginning drivers to 
practice and gain supervised 
experience. 
 

Driver License 
A person must be at least 16 years of 
age to get a driver license. Everyone 
who has never been licensed to drive 
a motor vehicle must complete an 
approved driver education course. 
 

Night-time Restrictions 
Anyone under the age of 17 years 
may not drive from midnight to 5:00 
a.m. except in a limited number of 
situations. The majority of fatal teen 
crashes take place at night. 
 

Passenger Restrictions 
For the first six months of licensure, 
teen drivers can not drive with any 
passenger who is not an immediate 
family member with a few exceptions. 
Teen drivers are more likely to crash 
with passengers in the car, especially 
teen passengers. The more 
passengers, the greater the risk. 
 

Seat Belt Restrictions 
Utah law requires all motor vehicle 
occupants to wear a seat belt. 
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Teenage-driver crashes peaked during after-school hours     
(2:00 p.m.-6:59 p.m.).  

Teenage Driver Crashes by Hour (Utah 2016) 
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 The teenage driver crash rate per licensed driver decreased 
37% from 2006 to 2015. 

Teenage Driver Crash Trend (Utah 2007-2016) 
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