Did you know in 2006:

Teenage drivers represented 8% of the li

and 49 deaths.

Passengers (Utah 2006)

censed drivers in Utah, yet they were in

over one-quarter (26%) of all motor vehicle crashes.
Teenage drivers were in 14,398 motor vehicle crashes which resulted in 7,817 injured persons

Approximately one out of six (17%) fatal crashes in Utah involved a teenage driver.
A teenage driver crash occurred in Utah every 36 minutes.

Seatbelt Use of Teen Drivers and Their Number of Occupants in Teenage-Driven

Vehicles (Utah 2006)
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e Three out of five (57%) teen drivers and thei
passengers killed in crashes were unbelted.
e Teen drivers and their passengers that were

occupants to be killed in a crash.

All Teenage Driver Crashes
1. Rear End (38%)
2. Broadside (34%)
3. Sideswipe (12%)

1. Failed to Yield Right of Way (15%) 1. Reckl

2006 UTAH GRASH FACGTS

Produced by: Utah Department of Public Safety e Highway Safety Office ¢ 3888 W 5400 S SLC, UT 84118 e (801) 957-8570 « www.highwaysafety.utah.gov

"nd

Vehicle Occupants
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Crashes where the teenage driven vehicle
contained four or more occupants were 3.4 times

unbelted were 22 times more likely than belted more likely to be fatal than crashes involving

teenage driven vehicles with fewer occupants.

Leading Collision Descriptions of Teenage Driver Crashes (Utah 2006)

Fatal Teenage Driver Crashes
1. Single Vehicle Rollover (30%)
2. Broadside (21%)

3. Head On (16%)

All Teenage Driver Crashes Fatal Teenage Driver Crashes

ess/Aggressive Driving (36%)

2. Followed Too Closely (13%) 2. Speed Too Fast (19%)
3. Speed Too Fast (10%) 3. Driver Distraction (9%)
4. Driver Distraction (10%) 4. Improper Passing (6%)
5. Defective Condition of Vehicle (4%) 4. Failed to Yield Right of Way (6%)




Teenage Driver Crashes by Time of Day (Utah 2006)
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Hour of Day

e Teenage-driver crashes peaked during after-school hours (2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m.).

Gender of Teenage Drivers in Crashes (Utah 2006)
Total Crashes Fatal Crashes

Female

Female 24%

46%

Male
76%

e The majority of teen drivers in all motor vehicle crashes (54%) and fatal crashes (76%) were male. Male
teen drivers were 2.7 times more likely to be in a fatal crash than females.

Graduated Driver Licensing Law in Utah

Graduated Driver Licensing allows beginning drivers the chance to build experience before they are exposed
to more high-risk situations, such as carrying teen passengers and nighttime driving. Easing young drivers
onto the roadways by controlling their exposure to progressively more difficult driving experiences can reduce
the number of traffic crashes involving young drivers.

Learner Permit
If a person is at least 15 years old, he or she may apply for a learner permit. An applicant who is under 18
years of age is required to hold a learners permit for six months before applying for a license.

Supervised Driving

All individuals under 18 years of age applying for a first time license must complete 40 hours of driving, of
which at least 10 hours must be during night hours. This allows beginning drivers to practice and gain
supervised experience.

Driver License
A person must be at least 16 years of age to get a driver license. All individuals who have never been
licensed to drive a motor vehicle must complete an approved driver education course.

Night-time Restrictions
Anyone under the age of 17 years may not drive from midnight to 5:00 AM except in a limited number of
situations. The majority of fatal teen crashes take place at night.

Passenger Restrictions

For the first six months of licensure, teen drivers can not drive with any passenger who is not an immediate
family member with a few exceptions. Teen drivers are more likely to crash with passengers in the car,
especially teen passengers. The more passengers, the greater the risk.

Seatbelt Restrictions
All occupants under the age of 19 years must be properly restrained in a motor vehicle. This is a primary law
which means a person may be stopped by a law enforcement officer solely for that offense.
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