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Wearing a seat belt is one of the

best ways to decrease injuries and O CCuU p a nt

deaths in motor vehicle crashes.

Protection

Did you know in 2012:
e Unrestrained crash occupants were 45 times more likely to die in a crash than restrained occupants.
¢ An estimated 102 lives were saved because of restraint use. (National Highway Traffic Safety Administration)
¢ An estimated 46 additional lives would have been saved if everyone had been wearing seat belts.

Unrestrained Crash Occupants by Hour, Unrestrained Crash Occupants by County
Rural vs. Urban (Utah 2012) (Utah 2012)

n 15%
t —o— Urban

0, —
§ 12% I/ ‘ —— Rural
o
o 9% >6% of Occupants
g o u Unrestrained
Q 6% 1 l o,
k= m 3-6% of Occupants
® 2% Unrestrained
o ’ <38% of Occupants
£ 7 — Unrestrained
> EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

T O OCOCOOCODOOCOOoTCTa0000000Q0QQ
Hour of Day

e 11:00 p.m. to 4:59 a.m. had the highest
percentage of unrestrained crash occupants.

« Rural areas had lower restraint use for nearly
every hour of the day than urban areas.

e Occupants in rural crashes were 1.8 times more
likely to be unrestrained than urban occupants.

Unrestrained Crash Occupants by Age Restraint Use by Injury Severity (Utah 2012)
(Utah 2012)
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» The highest percentage of unrestrained crash restrained compared to less than half (41%) of
occupants were 10-19 years and 80+ years. the persons killed.
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Effectiveness of Booster Seat
Law (Utah 2004-2012)
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e In 2008, a law was passed
increasing the age of child

safety seat use from up to age
4 years to up to age 8 years.
¢ In 2012, booster seat use

among ages 4-7 years was

56%.
o Booster seat use increased
61% since passage of the law.

Ejection and Restraint
Use (Utah 2012)
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e 65% of crash occupants
fully ejected from a motor

vehicle were unrestrained.

« Unrestrained occupants
were 59 times more likely
to be fully ejected than
restrained occupants.

Percent of Children Aged 0-8 Years in Crashes Using
Child Safety Seats (Utah 2012)

100%

Children in Child Safety Seats

80% -

60%

40% 1

20% A

0% -

4 5 6 7 8
Age (Years)

e The older the child the less likely they were using a child

safety seat.

« While 91% of 1-year-olds in a crash were in a child safety
seat, only 76% of 4-year-olds, 47% of 6-year-olds, and 14%
of 8-year-olds were in a child safety seat.

« The decrease in child safety seat use for children aged 4-8
years is concerning and indicates that children are moving
to adult-sized seat belts too early.
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Occupant
Protection

Child Safety Seat Recommendations:

¢ Infants should be placed in a rear-facing
safety seat until they are at least 20
pounds and 1 year of age.

¢ Never place a rear-facing child safety
seat in the front seat of a vehicle with a
passenger side air bag.

e Children at least 1 year of age weighing
20-40 pounds should ride in forward
facing child safety seats.

e Older children (approximately 4-8 years
of age) should ride in belt-positioning
booster seats until they are 4’9” tall and
the seat belt fits properly. Booster seats
help position an adult-size seat belt for
a safer fit on children.

o The safest place for any child aged 12

and under is in the back seat of the
vehicle.

Seat Belt Recommendations:

o Always use both the lap and shoulder
belt. When worn properly, the shoulder
belt should fit across the collar bone
and the lap belt should fit low over the
hips.

¢ Never place the shoulder strap under
the arm or behind the back.

Safety Restraint Laws:

e Utah law requires all motor vehicle
occupants to wear a seat belt. This is a
secondary enforcement law for drivers
and passengers age 19 years and
older. This means an adult may be
issued a citation and a $45 fine only
when the police officer has stopped the
vehicle for another reason.

e The law is a primary enforcement law
for drivers and passengers under age
19 years.
= Children age 7 years and under must

ride in an approved child safety seat.
= Children aged 8 to 18 years must
ride in an appropriate child restraint
or seat belt.
= There are a few exemptions to the
law. Contact the Highway Safety
Office for more information.
This primary enforcement law
means a person may be
stopped and issued a citation
for simply not buckling up.
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