Utah Department of Public Safety
Highway Safety Office

2012 Utah Crash Facts
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Did you know in 2012:
e Teenage drivers represented 9% of the

. ivers , Teenage Drivers
licensed drivers in Utah, yet they were in 20%
of all motor vehicle crashes. (1 5-19 yearS)

e Teenage drivers were in 10,132 motor vehicle crashes
which resulted in 4,930 injured persons and 29 deaths.

e Teenage drivers were 1.5 times more likely to be in a crash than drivers of other ages.

e Teen driver crashes have decreased the last ten years. 2012 was the first year that teen drivers did
not have the highest crash rates as they were surpassed by 20-24 year-old drivers.

Crash Rates per Licensed Driver by Age Teenage Driver Crashes by Travel Speed
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« Crashes involving teenage driver vehicles
« Drivers aged 18 years had the highest total traveling 40 MPH or higher were 7.9 times
crash rate per licensed driver. more likely to be fatal.

Leading Contributing Factors of Teenage Driver Crashes (Utah 2012)

All Teenage Driver Crashes Fatal Teenage Driver Crashes

1. Followed Too Closely (20%) 1. Ran Off Road (30%)

2. Failed to Yield Right of Way (18%) 2. Speed Too Fast (22%)
3. Speed Too Fast (12%) 3. Failed to Keep in Proper Lane (15%) =S
4. Driver Distraction (9%) 3. Overcorrected (15%)

5. Failed to Keep in Proper Lane (9%) 5. Fail to Yield, Driver Distraction, Wrong Side (11%)
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Restraint Use of Teen Drivers and
Their Passengers (Utah 2012)
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« 57% of teen drivers and their passengers killed in crashes

were unrestrained.

« Unrestrained teen drivers and their passengers were 31 times
more likely than restrained occupants to be killed in a crash.

Teenage Driver Crash Trend (Utah 2003-2012)
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Teenage Drivers /2
(15-19 years)

Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL)
Law in Utah

GDL allows beginning drivers the
chance to build experience before they
are exposed to more high-risk
situations, such as carrying teen
passengers and nighttime driving.
Easing young drivers onto the
roadways can reduce the number of
traffic crashes involving young drivers.

Learner Permit

A person must be at least 15 years old
to apply for a learner permit. Anyone
who is under 18 years of age is
required to hold a learner permit for six
months before applying for a license.
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Supervised Driving
Everyone under 18 years of age
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applying for a license must complete
40 hours of driving, of which at least 10
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hours must be during night hours. This
allows beginning drivers to practice and
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gain supervised experience.
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Driver License
A person must be at least 16 years of
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age to get a driver license. Everyone
who has never been licensed to drive a
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« The teenage driver crash rate per licensed driver decreased

60% from 2003 to 2012.

Teenage Driver Crashes by Hour (Utah 2012)

motor vehicle must complete an
approved driver education course.

Night-time Restrictions

Anyone under the age of 17 years may
not drive from midnight to 5:00 a.m.
except in a limited number of
situations. The majority of fatal teen
crashes take place at night.

Passenger Restrictions
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For the first six months of licensure,
teen drivers can not drive with any
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passenger who is not an immediate
family member with a few exceptions.
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Teen drivers are more likely to crash
with passengers in the car, especially

teen passengers. The more
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passengers, the greater the risk.
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« Teenage-driver crashes peaked during after-school hours

(2:00 p.m.-6:59 p.m.).

— Seat Belt Restrictions
All occupants under the age of 19
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N AOTDONDDOrNTNMT OO~ ®DO years must be properly restrained in a

motor vehicle. This is a primary law
which means a person may be stopped
by law enforcement solely for that
offense.
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