wm‘; Weber County 1/M Bulletin
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WEBER MORGAN Ogden UT, 84401

HEALTH DEPARTMENT December 1, 2022

To: Weber County I/M certified test/test and repair technicians, managers, and owners. Post a
copy of this technical bulletin by your analyzer for easy reference and ensure all certified
technicians, managers, and owners read it.

CHANGES TO THE NEW TESTER CERTIFICATION PROCESS

All written testing will now be done through our testing center located in Environmental Health on the 2"
floor of the main health department building. No appointments are necessary.

Pretest: The pretest focuses on general automotive knowledge and emission control devices. The test may
be taken twice in a one year period and must be passed with a score of 80%. There is no charge for this test.
To open up a third attempt, a tester must pass the Ogden-Weber Technical College’s 16-hour Vehicle
Emissions Fundamentals Course. Enroll at the main campus in the Student Services Building 200 N.
Washington Blvd. (801) 627-8463.

Pretest hours: Monday thru Friday, 8:30 am to 4 pm (last test given at 4 pm)

After passing the pretest, the tester will be required to purchase a Technician Training Manual for $45;
included in the fee is the first attempt for the open book test and a hands-on training. A second attempt for
the open book test will cost $20.

Open book test: The open book test focuses on emission control devices and the Weber County I/M
program. The test can be taken two times with at least one week between each test and must be passed
with a score of 80%. To open up a third attempt, a tester must pass the Ogden-Weber Technical College’s
16-hour Vehicle Emissions Fundamentals Course. Enroll at the main campus in the Student Services
Building 200 N. Washington Blvd. (801) 627-8463.

Open book test hours: Monday thru Friday, 8:30 am to 2:30 pm (last test given at 2:30 pm)

Hands on Training: After both written tests have been passed, the tester will schedule their hands-on
portion of the test. Scheduling the hands on test can be done in person or by calling 801-399-7140 and will
likely not be on the same day as the open book test. Hands on appointments are Mon-Fri at 10:00 am &
12:30 pm.

In-house Training Class: An optional class will be put on by the Weber County I/M Program on the first
Wednesday of each month at 12:30 pm. The class will cover all the material that is on the pretest and it will
also help the tester prepare for the open book test and hands-on training. The cost of the class will be $25
and will last for about three hours. No appointment is needed, late arrivals will not be accepted.

Certification: After passing both the pretest and the open book test and then receiving hand’s on training, a
permit may be purchased for $25 and will be valid for one year. Recertification will be required by the
department annually.



