1. UDOT
  2. About Us
  3. Project Development Division
  4. Construction & Civil Rights Division

Construction & Civil Rights Division

Welcome to Construction and Civil Rights

The UDOT Construction and Civil Rights Divisions provide services to efficiently deliver projects and ensure civil rights requirements are met per Federal Highways Administration (FHWA) guidelines.  These Divisions are responsible for processes, procedures, manuals, guidelines, standards, specifications and training related to contracting, construction and civil rights.


Construction Contact Information

If you are unable to reach anyone below, please call our main reception desk at 801-965-4173.

Construction Operations



Contact Information:

Eric Chaston
Director of Construction
Email: echaston@utah.gov
Cell: (801) 910-2531

Jace Mecham
State Construction Engineer 
Email: jmecham@utah.gov
Cell: (435) 230-2989

Rodney Ruby
Deputy State Construction Engineer 
Email: rjruby@utah.gov
Work: 801-975-4856
Cell: 801-910-2560

Deni Archuletta
Senior Business Analyst 
Email: darchuletta@utah.gov
Work: 801-965-4170
Cell: 801-503-3612

Quality Management



Contact Information:

Ken Talbot
Construction Acceptance Engineer
Email: kentalbot@utah.gov
Cell: (801) 360-8750

Construction Training Program



Contact Information:

Cory Bekkemellom
Inspection Program Manager
Email: cbekkemellom@utah.gov
Cell: (801) 910-2583


Civil Rights Contact Information

Civil Rights 



Contact Information:

Stacy Frandsen
Contract, Compliance and Certification Manager
Email: sfrandsen@utah.gov
Phone: 801-965-4344
Cell: 385-227-9449

Tori Berry
Deputy Contract, Compliance and Certification Manager
Email: tberry@utah.gov
Cell: 801-361-9621

Judy Romrell
Civil Rights, Compliance Specialist
Email: jromrell@utah.gov
Cell: 801-870-2563

Sheri Uffens (Non-UDOT Consultant)
Civil Rights Specialist
Email: suffens@utah.gov
Cell: 801-574-9432

Vickie Pollock
Title VI Specialist 
Email: vpollock@utah.gov
Phone: 801-965-4384

Aaron Watson (Non-UDOT Consultant)
Civil Rights, Construction Project Close-Out, EEO/Labor Compliance Specialist
Email: aaronwatson@utah.gov
Cell: (801) 573-9166

Mary Watson (Non-UDOT Consultant)
Civil Rights, EEO/Labor Compliance Specialist
Email: marywatson@utah.gov
Office: (801) 946-2639

Doing Business