1. UDOT
  2. About Us
  3. Risk Management Division

Risk Management Division

UDOT’s Risk Management Division promotes an innovative transportation safety culture aimed at enhancing the quality of life for employees, contractors, and the traveling public. This vital work is performed by centralized and decentralized teams of professionals across the state. It includes improving organizational resiliency through certified safety training, OCIP administration, project safety inspections, records & claims management oversight, GRAMA fulfillment, loss control, and state insurance procurement processes.

Contact Info - Risk Management Division


Rod McDaniels, MPA
Director of Risk Management
rmcdaniels@utah.gov
801-633-6219

EMPLOYEE SAFETY SECTION:

Dan Fauvell, ASP, CHST
Employee Safety and OCIP Program Manager
dfauvell@utah.gov
801-965-4172

Nick Peterson, CHST
Liability Prevention Specialist
nick@utah.gov
435-590-1285

Keith Bladen
Contractor Safety Manager
kbladen@utah.gov
801-791-2412

RECORDS & CLAIMS MANAGEMENT SECTION:

Brandi Trujillo
Records & Claims Program Manager
btrujillo@utah.gov
801-965-4961

Heidi Thomas
Records & Claims Coordinator
hrthomas@utah.gov
801-688-8961

Mandy Knowlden
GRAMA Coordinator
mandyknowlden@utah.gov
801-965-4715

Contact Info - Region Safety Managers


REGION ONE SAFETY MANAGERS:

Veronica Reilly
R1 Employee Safety Manager
vreilly@utah.gov
435-241-8768

Alan Nielsen
R1 Employee Safety Manager
alannielsen@utah.gov
801-940-6551

REGION TWO SAFETY MANAGERS:

Dottie Weese
R2 Employee Safety Manager
dweese@utah.gov
801-975-4902

Bobby Hall
R2 Employee Safety Manager
rbhall@utah.gov
801-887-3475

REGION THREE SAFETY MANAGERS:

Seth Buhler
R3 Employee Safety Manager
sethbuhler@utah.gov
801-637-5926

Mote Siufanua
R3 Employee Safety Manager
msiufanua@utah.gov
801-830-6979

REGION FOUR SAFETY MANAGERS:

Brian Quarnberg
R4 Employee Safety Manager (Region Four)
bquarnberg@utah.gov
435-979-8468

Jeff Willden
R4 Employee Safety Manager (Richfield)
jdwillden@utah.gov
435-201-1197

Kurt McFarlane
R4 Employee Safety Manager (Price)
kmcfarlane@utah.gov
435-650-1156

Kyle Christensen
R4 Employee Safety Manager (Cedar)
kchristensen1@utah.gov
435-650-1156

Why Safety Matters!

Resource Links - Employee Safety Section



UDOT Safety and Health Manual
This manual outlines a safety and health program for the prevention of job-related accidents, health issues, and traveling public impacts during the construction of UDOT projects. An objective of this program is to assure that all personnel and traveling public are treated as the most important asset of highway construction projects.


Rolling OCIP Program
UDOT’s Rolling Owner Controlled Insurance Program (OCIP) ensures that consistent insurance liability protections are in place for large (>$75M) highway construction projects. The Rolling OCIP protects taxpayer investments by shielding UDOT and its construction contractors against catastrophic losses. In addition, the Rolling OCIP provides an optimized construction safety environment via systematic and proactive safety inspections that are facilitated in direct coordination with private-sector casualty insurance providers. For a more detailed look at this program, please click THIS LINK to view UDOT’s Rolling OCIP Manual.

Resource Links - Records & Claims Management Section